This post was sponsored by Ancestry and recipe was inspired by my AncestryDNA results. Banoffee Pie is a popular dessert in Britain with a caramel toffee filling topped with bananas, whipped cream, and chocolate shavings. This is such an insanely delicious pie that you won’t be able to get enough of! 

I have been over the moon excited to share this post with you today. This has been in the works for a while now, and if you have been following along on my Instagram stories,  you will know that I have partnered up with ancestry.com to get my own results and find out more about my ancestry and where I came from. The process could not have been easier and I was anxiously awaiting to get my results and dig deep into what my ancestry background is. AncestryDNA can help you uncover your ethnicity and connect with relatives through the largest DNA network in the world. You also have a Ancestry Family History membership where you can discover your ancestors, and uncover stories through 20 billion historical documents including military registrations, marriage certificates, census and voter lists city directories and more!

Guess what!? My results came!! I am 47% Great Britain. As soon as I got my results I couldn’t wait to call my mom to share. She told me that my ancestors the Lavenders’ are from Great Britain. My grandpa’s mother is Laura Mae Lavender.

What an neat experience to hear about my great grandmother and where I came from. She also showed me a picture of my grandpa as a boy with my great grandmother and tears filled my eyes. We got to reading her journal and the stories that she wrote. It was her desire to go to be sealed in the Salt Lake Temple to her husband and her little boy, Leigh, that was my grandpa. She had a heart condition that they didn’t know about and died suddenly at the age of 26. I  have tears as I am writing this post because this experience was such a special one. Seeing the pictures of my grandpa who I was so close to and remembering all of the fun times that we had together as I was growing up before he passed away.

(My great grandmother Laura Mae Lavender with my Grandpa Leigh Sherman) I loved every minute of discovering more about myself and where I came from. My husband also did an AncestryDNA test and is 47% Finnish. I make this Finnish Pancake for his birthday every year,  as it has been apart of their families traditions. His mother literally came on the boat from Finland. He has such a cool ancestry heritage and it is so fun discovering more about ourselves from a simple- to use- test! Since food is such an important part of culture as traditional cuisine is passed from one generation to the next, I immediately started doing research on popular foods in Britain. My husband served his mission in Paris, France and has visited all over Europe including where my ancestry results were from. He told me about this amazing pie that had a cookie crust layer filled with toffee, topped with bananas and whipped cream. That sounded like a dessert that I would love and was apart of my ancestry! ha! So I did some research and today I am bringing you the famous Banoffee pie!

Where did Banoffee Pie come from?

Nigel Mackenzie invented the world-famous banoffee pie. You could easily think that it is American, but it was invented in Britain at The Hungry Monk Restaurant.

How do you make banoffee pie?

Make the crust: To start, combine graham cracker crumbs and press in the bottom and along the sides. Chill the crust until firm. To make the filling:  Melt the butter in a medium sized saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the brown sugar and melt over medium low heat. Add the condensed milk and bring to a boil stirring continuously. The toffee will start to darker. Pour the filling over the crust and and chill for an hour or until firm. Make it look beautiful: Top with sliced bananas, fresh whipping cream, and chocolate shavings.

How do I make homemade whipping cream?

Pour heavy whipping cream and sugar into a bowl or stand mixer. Beat for about 1 minute or until stiff peaks form.

How is traditional banoffee made?

Traditional Banoffee pie uses Digestive Biscuits as the crust. But since they are not easily available in the US, a graham cracker, or shortbread crust is a great substitute. Everything about this pie became my very favorite from the first bite. The buttery graham cracker crust and the soft caramel toffee center is to die for. I am so glad that I was able to discover this amazing dessert and learn more about where I came from.

What is the best way to get an AncestryDNA kit?

I really didn’t know a lot about my ethnic heritage before taking my AncestryDNA test – but I loved the entire process from start to finish. Now, I can fill out my family tree and dig even deeper into the huge data base that they provide. This was such an amazing experience for our entire family and something that you have to do for yourself! They have their lowest price onsite right now until August 20th, 2018. AncestryDNA kits are available for $59 –  40% off the original price of $59 (excludes tax and shipping). Click here to purchase your own AncestryDNA kit!

  This post was sponsored by Ancestry.com. I love working with brands that I am passionate about and all opinions expressed are my own. All nutritional information is based on third party calculations and is only an estimate. Each recipe and nutritional value will vary depending on the brands you use, measuring methods and portion sizes per household.

The Best Homemade Alfredo Sauce Recipe Ever!

Insanely Delicious Prime Rib Recipe

Lemon Garlic Parmesan Shrimp Pasta

Banoffee Pie Recipe - 61Banoffee Pie Recipe - 65Banoffee Pie Recipe - 62Banoffee Pie Recipe - 97Banoffee Pie Recipe - 26Banoffee Pie Recipe - 18Banoffee Pie Recipe - 10Banoffee Pie Recipe - 69Banoffee Pie Recipe - 1Banoffee Pie Recipe - 2Banoffee Pie Recipe - 98