Garlic Bread

You can’t order pizza without a side of garlic bread. It would be like ordering a burger at Maccers with no fries. (Oh the sacrilege, talking about so much fast food in one post! 🙈) And while some people dive straight for the biggest slice of pizza, I always – ALWAYS – go for the garlic bread first. Who’s with me here??? 🙋🏻‍♀️

How to make garlic bread

There are many ways to make garlic bread. But for me, the Dominos way will always be the best way: a baguette sliced almost all the way through, then each piece slathered with garlic butter, wrapped in foil and baked until toasty. My garlic butter is made with 2 tsp freshly minced garlic, 1/2 tsp salt and 125g / 1 stick butter. The perfect garlic-salty balance!

Best bread for garlic bread

For a truly epic, classic Garlic Bread experience, my one firm rule I’ll never budge on is this: NO FANCY BREAD ALLOWED In my world, classic Garlic Bread should always be made with stock standard supermarket or basic bakery French stick / baguette. The crust isn’t that thick, and it’s usually pretty soft rather than crispy. Once slathered with butter and baked in foil, I find it yields the perfect ratio of crust crunch to soft, warm, garlic butter soaked bread. On the other hand, a thick crust like you get with fancy artisan baguettes is no good – too much crispy crust compared to soft bread inside. Too hard to swallow! Basic French stick is perfect. See? 😍

Fresh garlic is essential!

Bread aside, I only have one other rule: please use real garlic. As much as I will rip into Dominos and Pizza Hut garlic bread with enthusiasm, there’s no denying that it has an element of sourness to it which is probably due to using jarred garlic because that’s the main difference I notice between fresh and jarred garlic. From the preservatives, I expect. Hence why homemade will always be so much better than Dominos. 🙂 Because the garlic is real and fresh!!

Homemade Garlic Bread. Completely, utterly, ridiculously, insanely, can’t-stop-eating-it delicious. Put a juicy, perfectly cooked steak and Garlic Bread in front of me, and I’d choose the Garlic Bread every time, any day and twice on Sunday. These photos are killing me. Gotta stop looking at them! – Nagi x

What to serve with Garlic Bread

Spaghetti Bolognese, a slow cooked Shredded Beef Ragu or any other pasta Dunk in soup! Try Pumpkin Soup, Lentil Soup, Cauliflower Soup or Broccoli Cheese Soup A quick homemade pizza Schnitzel, marinated pork chops or sticky baked pork chops On the side of a big salad – make a meal of it! A quick chicken main like juicy Baked Chicken Breast, Honey Garlic Chicken, Sticky Baked Thighs or Honey Mustard Baked Drumsticks

Better-than-Dominos Garlic Bread

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Originally published March 2018. Updated with housekeeping matters April 2019 – no change to recipe.

THE “OTHER” GARLIC BREAD

Just in case you missed it, here’s my “other” garlic bread – Cheese & Garlic Crack Bread. Aptly named as such because of how it’s cut and also because it’s said to be garlic bread…. on crack! A bit of fun, great for sharing and ridiculously addictive.

LIFE OF DOZER

Little souvenir from Tokyo. He’s not a fan. I think he prefers cotton to polyester. Yeah, that’s the problem. For sure. 🤣 PS I had a vision of making him wear this for every “Life of Dozer” photo for Asian recipes. That’s how I justified this “business cost”….. Poor, poor Dozer…..

Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 31Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 61Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 84Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 65Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 75Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 11Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 45Better Than Dominos Garlic Bread - 32