Chicken Pesto Pasta is made creamy with Parmesan, mozzarella, and heavy cream. Fresh basil pesto coats this pasta and chicken for the perfect pop of flavor in every bite. This is a quick and easy recipe that everyone will love! Pasta is always a winner at my house. My kids love it, so I’ve tried about a thousand different pasta recipes over the years. This pesto pasta is one we come back to again and again! It’s creamy, full of flavor, and filling. For more great basil pesto recipes, try this Baked Pesto Chicken, this delicious Pesto Chicken Sandwich, and this Caprese Sandwich with Pesto.

Pesto Chicken Pasta

Don’t you just love a delicious and SIMPLE pasta recipe? I know I do! That’s probably why we eat this chicken pesto pasta so often. It just doesn’t get old! The chicken is seasoned and then you make this incredible creamy pesto sauce that just goes together so well. I prefer to make my own basil pesto, but there are a few great options you can pick up from the grocery store. Another reason I love a good pasta recipe is you don’t need to worry about making a lot of sides! I like to whip up some roasted root veggies or even better, some delicious air fryer mushrooms to go along with the pasta and you’re done. Of course a salad like a Caprese salad or a spinach salad would also go great! You’ve got a well-rounded meal that is fresh and delicious. I think you are going to love this recipe as much as I do. Let’s get cooking!

Ingredients

These ingredients are so simple and come together to make yummy chicken pesto pasta. I like to add two cheeses, but you could choose just one or the other. You can also switch up the type of meat you use, it’s delicious with turkey or even pork. You can find the measurements below in the recipe card

Olive Oil: It has the best flavor and makes a great base for the sauce. Chicken Breasts: You can use any part of the chicken you like, just cut the chicken up in good bite size pieces. Onion: You could add in fresh onion, I like to add onion powder to keep it easy. Dried Italian Seasoning: This just goes so well with the pesto! Kosher Salt: High-quality salt matters. Butter: To saute the garlic. Garlic: For fresh flavor that goes perfect with basil. Chicken Broth: To make the sauce. You could use reserved pasta water instead. Heavy Cream: Lots of cream makes the sauce so thick and creamy! Parmesan: I love Parm with this sauce. Mozzarella Cheese: Melts into the sauce! Basil Pesto: You can use homemade or store bought. Penne Pasta: That’s what I prefer, you can choose whatever noodle you want. Salt and Pepper: To season the chicken.

Chicken Pesto Pasta Recipe

The list of ingredients may look a little long for this chicken pesto pasta recipe, but they are super simple. You can also switch up the ingredients to suit your needs. I like adding new things to this recipe all the time. You will figure out exactly the way that your family likes it best. I share some of my tips below for changing things up.

Type of Pasta: I prefer penne, but you could really use whatever kind of pasta you have on hand or you like best. I’ve made this with spaghetti noodles and elbows, and it was delicious both ways. Added Ingredients: I am always adding new ingredients to this recipe! I especially love adding pine nuts and cherry tomatoes. I have also used sausage instead of chicken, and along with chicken. It was amazing! Thicken the Sauce: If you want the sauce a little thicker, you can make a flour and water slurry to add to the sauce. Mix 1 tablespoon of flour with 2 tablespoons of water until smooth. Add that when you are adding the rest of the sauce ingredients and cook until thickened.

In the Refrigerator: Store leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator for up to 5 days.

Creamy Tuscan Sausage Pasta

Lemon Garlic Parmesan Shrimp Pasta

Creamy Bacon Carbonara

One-Pot Creamy Chicken Mushroom Florentine

All nutritional information is based on third party calculations and is only an estimate. Each recipe and nutritional value will vary depending on the brands you use, measuring methods and portion sizes per household.

The Best Homemade Alfredo Sauce Recipe Ever!

Insanely Delicious Prime Rib Recipe

Lemon Garlic Parmesan Shrimp Pasta

Chicken Pesto Pasta - 32Chicken Pesto Pasta - 28Chicken Pesto Pasta - 2Chicken Pesto Pasta - 34Chicken Pesto Pasta - 14Chicken Pesto Pasta - 82Chicken Pesto Pasta - 16Chicken Pesto Pasta - 91Chicken Pesto Pasta - 11Chicken Pesto Pasta - 3