The first thing some might notice is that there’s bacon in this Fried Rice. “That’s not authentic!”, you may be thinking. And that’s true. Authentic Chinese restaurants make Fried Rice with Chinese Sausage. I’m betting that the vast majority of readers have never bought or cooked Chinese Sausage before. But you know what? Kylie Kwong says bacon is ok. In fact, it’s the alternative in her recipe to Chinese Sausage. And as someone who has bought, cooked and eaten Chinese Sausage, I can assure you that bacon brings a very similar salty / oily / meaty pop to fried rice. And as someone who has eaten a lot of fried rice in her time, here in Sydney, in China, Hong Kong, the US and London, I can also tell you that I’ve seen a fair share of fried rice made with bacon and even with ham!

So this recipe I have for you today is not so much about exactly what should be in the Fried Rice. Because even in China, and certainly in Chinese restaurants around the world, it’s clear that there are no hard and fast rules about what should be in a fried rice. However! And there is a big “however”. While I give much concession to the additions, the thing you cannot skimp on is the sauce! The sauce has to be right – and it isn’t just soy sauce and chicken broth!

So here are my 10 8 commandments for making a great (proper!) Fried Rice. (I really wanted to say 10, but I can only think of 8 key ones.)

This recipe that I’m sharing with you today is how I make it as a usual midweek meal, hence why it has bacon in it rather than Chinese sausage. I swap out the prawns for whatever other proteins I have on hand, or leave it out. I’ve also been known to increase the veggies in this – and for a super speedy version, to even use frozen diced veggies. If you substantially increase the veggies, reduce the quantity of rice, otherwise there won’t be enough sauce. Really, other than the rice, the cooking technique and the sauce, feel free to substitute the other ingredients for whatever you want. That’s the beauty of fried rice – it’s so flexible! – Nagi x

Lucky 8: Eight more Chinese takeout favourites

Life of Dozer

Just another day in the Hard Life of Dozer – starting with breakfast at The Boathouse in Palm Beach, Sydney. For visitors to Australia, this is a MUST VISIT!!

SaveSave

Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 57Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 76Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 49Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 75Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 34Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 59Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 98Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 92Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 8Chinese Fried Rice with Shrimp   Prawns - 35