Giant Pancake to share!

When I have friends around for brunch, I rarely make pancakes because I want to lounge around chatting, not slaving over a hot stove making pancake after pancake after pancake. Simple maths: 3 pancakes each for 4 people = 12 pancakes @ 3 minutes each = 36 minutes. Sure, you can make them ahead and reheat them. But you and I both know it’s just not the same. Whether you reheat in the microwave or oven, the pancakes sweat and become a bit soggy. You just can’t beat freshly made pancakes. But I had an oversupply of pancake mix after posting the Instant Classic Pancake Mix last week that I wanted to use. So instead of making a stack of pancakes for each of us, I decided to make 2 giant pancakes, stack them up, then cut them like cake to serve it. It worked really well! It was a novelty, and looked pretty dressed up with slices of strawberries and a sprinkling of icing sugar. The best part is that it took less than 10 minutes to cook both of them so we had them fresh off the stove.

I got this idea from the Giant Hash Brown I posted a few weeks ago. Same concept – it takes ages to cook up lots of individual hash browns, so why not just make one giant pancake to share?? This recipe makes enough for 2 hungry man-size servings, 3 hungry lady-size servings or 4 normal servings. I love that you slice it and serve it up like cake – it’s like getting away with breakfast for dessert!!

Pancakes, pancakes, pancakes

Pancakes Extra Fluffy Blueberry Pancakes Nutella Stuffed Pancakes Fluffy Ricotta Pancakes Pikelets – mini pancakes!

  SaveSave

Giant Pancakes - 52Giant Pancakes - 92Giant Pancakes - 22Giant Pancakes - 20