This is a terrific quick and easy dessert for assembling ahead then popping in the oven while you’re eating dinner. Just don’t forget the ice cream! Today’s recipe is brought into this world courtesy of Modi Apples, bright red balls with a hint of yellow full of crisp juiciness with fabulous apple flavour!

Baked Apples recipe

I’ve been munching on Modi Apples obsessively since I discovered them which, admittedly, was only a couple of months ago when I was asked to try them. I feel bad saying this, but I must confess I was a wee bit dubious because for as long as I can remember, I’ve approached store bought apples with caution, knowing that it’s actually quite hard to get really great eating ones here in Australia – or at least, here in Sydney. How wrong I was. To everyone who’s bitten into promising looking apples only to be sorely disappointed, meet your new favourite apple – Modi.

They get full marks on my Apple Score Card: super juicy, crisp but not hard, and most importantly for me, they have great flavour, something that most of the main stream apples lack. Added bonus: it’s a good snacking size, a bit smaller than most apples. If you’re looking at my hand for size context, remember what my friends call me – Baby Hands. 😂 With apples this good, I wanted to make something real quick ‘n easy and so sinfully delicious, you’ll want to make this over and over again. So this is what I came up with – Baked Apples. But these are not your usual Baked Apples. 🙂 These are self saucing. As in –when you pull this out of the oven, those apples are sitting in a pool of bubbling caramel.

How to make Caramel Baked Apples

Cut apples in half and scoop out core. Fill with a sugar, butter, walnut spiced mixture, piling it high to make a nice mound of the filling. Mix together cornflour/cornstarch and water, then pour this into the pan. After 40 minutes in the oven, some of the butter and sugar in the filling melts down and through the apples and into the pan and creates a caramel sauce. It’s like…magic! Want extra caramel sauce? Make some Salted Caramel Sauce! Any apples are suitable for making baked apples, it comes down to personal taste. I like to use red apples – any type. If you want a bit of tang, use Granny Smith Apples.

Top with a big scoop of ice cream, or even a dollop of cream. It’s the ultimate combo – sweet, crunch, creamy, warm, cold, creamy…. it’s SO GOOD!! – Nagi x PS If you’re wondering if baked apples are healthy, well, let’s put it this way. The apple part is healthy. Everything else is not. 😂 But it’s much healthier to have Baked Apples for dessert than a giant slice of Chocolate Fudge Cake or Strawberry Cheesecake! And remember, everything in moderation right? Good food, good life!

More apple recipes

Apple Muffins Apple Cake Apple Crumble

And more warm desserts for cold winter nights

Apple Crumble Chocolate Self Saucing Pudding Sticky Date Pudding Bread and Butter Pudding

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

LIFE OF DOZER

Modi Apple boy!

Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 11Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 28Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 30Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 29Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 88Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 73Magic Caramel Self Saucing Baked Apples - 2