The marinade for this recipe is adapted from a Bobby Flay recipe. I’m a huge fan of Bobby Flay. I still stand by a comment I made previously that he should seriously consider wearing sunnies when he cooks outdoors because I swear, he is permanently squinting in his Barbecue Addiction TV series! Bobby Flay’s food is totally up my alley. He’s into strong flavours, herbs and spices, cooking food from all over the world, and while he does do Western takes on ethnic recipes, he always stays on the right side of “the line”. I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to staying on the right side of “the line”. There, I’ve said it. I’ve never openly admitted that before. I am absolutely not a food snob. I’m not a gourmet foodie, I’m not into foraging, I don’t refuse to eat anything other than artisan bread. But I actually get a bit grumpy when I see, for example, a recipe named “Chinese” something-or-rather just because it has soy sauce in it, and no other Asian ingredient! So one reason I like Bobby Flay’s recipes is because even if they are not a 100000% traditional recipe, they still taste authentic. Am I making sense??? And this Mexican grilled chicken is one such example. 🙂

I found this recipe in Bobby Flay’s Barbecue Addiction cookbook. I’ve used a LOT of recipes from that cookbook, it’s one of my go-tos for…well, barbecue recipes! Actually, to tell you the truth, I use a lot of part of the recipes. Most of his recipes tend to comprise of a marinated or spice rubbed protein, plus a sauce or salsa on the side and quite often I end up using either the marinade or the side. So the marinade I use for this chicken is adapted from Bobby Flay’s Mexican Red Chicken with Grilled Black Corn and Quinoa Relish. I skipped the Relish because this chicken is absolutely perfect for using for tacos, as I have done for this recipe.

The marinade for this chicken is based on a Mexican street food called Sinaloa Chicken. Deep dark mahogany red, mildly spicy and aromatic from cinnamon and All Spice. The real street food version is made using whole chickens and it’s cooked over charcoal. So this is a homestyle version, made using a marinade adapted from Bobby Flay’s recipe, using chicken thigh fillets so it’s perfect for cutting into slices and stuffing into tacos. If you love Mexican food, I promise, absolutely PROMISE you will love this. The flavour is truly sensational! – Nagi x

Taco topping options

Guacamole, Avocado Sauce or avocado slices/diced Pico de Gallo (chunky tomato salsa) or a smooth Salsa Sauce Taco Sauce or hot sauce / chilli sauce of choice

And more tacos

Quick Chicken Tacos – 2 in 1 recipe, shredded taco seasoned chicken AND taco sauce Beef Tacos – the old school way Marinated Grilled Chicken Tacos Slow Cooked Shredded Mexican Chicken for Tacos Fish Tacos – marinated and grilled, healthy and delicious! Pork Carnitas Tacos – the iconic Mexican pulled pork tacos Shredded Beef Tacos – tender slow cooked shredded beef in a deep flavoured Mexican sauce

  SaveSave SaveSave

Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 41Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 7Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 59Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 58Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 3Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 45Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 23Mexican Grilled Chicken Tacos - 75