These pillowy soft cookies are based on my Grandma Dorothy’s classic snickerdoodle recipe. I lost her during the holidays three years ago. She was my biggest cheerleader and a fighter who never lost her sense of humor or empathy for others despite being sick for many years. She is still one of my greatest inspirations. When I bake recipes like these rum snickerdoodles, it makes me feel close to her again. From time to time, that closeness brings me sadness because I miss her. On the day I baked these sweet, cinnamon-sugar-rolled, spiced rum cookies, however, I was dancing around the kitchen. It felt like she was there with me in the best way, cracking jokes at the cheesy Christmas movie I had playing in the background.

About the Rum Snickerdoodles

These spiced rum cookies do have a few departures from Grandma Dorothy’s original snickerdoodle recipe, but as a woman who was never afraid to pave her own way, I don’t think she’d mind. I kept my favorite parts of her original snickerdoodle recipe—the ready-to-bite size, the soft, chewy interior, and the heavy-on-the-cinnamon coating—and added a few of my own touches. In place of shortening, I swapped real butter, as its flavor is my absolute favorite in any cookie I make or eat. For extra holiday flare, I added rum extract and nutmeg. Delicious! The cookies have the familiar snickerdoodle flavor and texture I’ve long loved, with a little something special to make them stand out on the plate. This is an ultra-easy butter rum cookie recipe—you don’t even need to chill the dough before you bake them. You can embrace that ease and eat your snickerdoodles in a hurry or take the fancy route I did with a white and dark chocolate dip and shower of holiday sprinkles. In addition to loving any excuse for chocolate, I wanted these cookies to sparkle because I was making them to take to a friend’s holiday party. At the end of the party, the only sign there had ever been rum snickerdoodles in attendance was a few stray crumbs on the plate.

The Ingredients

Butter. Gives these cookies the best flavor!Rum Extract. For a rich and delicious touch that makes these cookies unique. You may be wondering, “Can you use rum instead of rum extract?”. Rum extract is different that regular rum in that the flavor is very concentrated, and it behaves differently in baking too. For the flavor to shine, rum extract is what you need here. Vanilla Extract. The perfect complement to the rum extract.Nutmeg. Warmth with a hint of spice.Cinnamon + Sugar. This coating adds the familiar snickerdoodle taste.

While the chocolate dip is optional, I think it makes these beautiful cookies even more festive and special!

The Directions

What Does Rum Extract Taste Like?

Rum extract provides the rich yet sweet flavor of rum without any alcohol. The deep flavors add warmth and sweetness to recipes like these rum snickerdoodle cookies.

How to Store and Freeze Rum Snickerdoodles

To Store. Store the cookies in an airtight storage container at room temperature for up to 3 days.To Freeze. Place cookies in an airtight freezer-safe storage container or ziptop bag for up to 1 month.

Go ahead and leave Rum Snickerdoodles for Santa. Personally, I have my eye on a few new cookbooks, so I’m hoping that if I’m nice to him, he’ll be nice to me too!

Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 21Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 16Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 65Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 91Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 4Rum Snickerdoodles  And Warming Rum Steamer     WellPlated com - 10